Kitchen Appliances
Tawas
Tawas · ₹280 – ₹1,700
Best Dosa Tawas in India 2026: 8 Honest Picks
By Bikram Nath · Updated 2026-09-12 · How we pick · Affiliate disclosure: links earn a small commission
What's the best dosa tawa to buy in India?
A dosa tawa fails in one of two ways: the batter sticks, or the middle scorches while the rim stays pale. Both come down to two numbers the listings do publish — how thick the base is and how many coating layers sit on top of it — plus one you have to check yourself, which is whether the tawa works on your cooktop.
We compared live Amazon India listings across Prestige, Hawkins, Cello, Pigeon, Nirlon and a plain-iron option, and picked eight, from a 4.88 mm granite-coated 30 cm plate down to a 24 cm budget tawa and an uncoated iron one for people done with coatings entirely. Picks are researched from listings and specifications, not from hands-on testing.
Prestige Omega Granite Non-Stick Dosa Tawa, 30 cm
The specification leader: the thickest stated base, the most coating layers, induction support and a 2-year warranty in one tawa — buy it if your burner is big enough.
Affiliate links — we may earn a commission. Your price stays identical.
Quick Comparison
| # | Product | Best for | Brand | Price | Link |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Prestige Omega Granite Non-Stick Dosa Tawa, 30 cm | Best Overall | Prestige | Check price on Amazon | |
| 2 | Hawkins Futura Non-Stick Dosa Tava, 28 cm (NDT28) | Best for Durability | Hawkins | Check price on Amazon | |
| 3 | Prestige Omega Deluxe Granite Dosa Tawa, 25 cm | Best Compact Granite | Prestige | Check price on Amazon | |
| 4 | Prestige Non-Stick Dosa Tawa, 27.5 cm (OSP IB) | Best Mid-Range | Prestige | Check price on Amazon | |
| 5 | Cello Aluminium Non-Stick Induction Base Dosa Tawa with Detachable Handle, 28 cm | Best for Storage | Cello | Check price on Amazon | |
| 6 | Pigeon Special Aluminium Non-Stick Flat Tawa, 27 cm | Best for Gas Stoves | Pigeon | Check price on Amazon | |
| 7 | Nirlon Aluminium Non-Stick Flat Dosa Tawa with Bakelite Handle, 24 cm | Best Budget Non-Stick | Nirlon | Check price on Amazon | |
| 8 | Dozy Iron Dosa and Roti Tawa with Heavy Base | Best Uncoated Option | Dozy | Check price on Amazon |
Our Top Picks
Diameter
30 cm
Base Thickness
4.88 mm
Coating
5-layer granite-finish non-stick, described as using German technology
Exterior
Two-layer metallic finish
Compatibility
Gas and induction
Handle
Stay-cool bakelite
Cleaning
Dishwasher safe
Warranty
2 years; listing states ISI certification
Safety
Listed as 100% PFOA-free and metal-spoon friendly
Pros
- ✓4.88 mm base is the thickest stated here — the spec that stops the centre scorching
- ✓Five coating layers plus a metal-spoon-friendly claim, so a steel turner is not an instant death sentence
- ✓Works on both gas and induction, unlike the Pigeon
- ✓2-year warranty and stated ISI certification
Cons
- ✗30 cm needs a large burner; on a small one the rim will always run cooler
- ✗Neither the weight nor a lid is stated in the listing, and a 4.88 mm 30 cm plate will not be light
“The specification leader: the thickest stated base, the most coating layers, induction support and a 2-year warranty in one tawa — buy it if your burner is big enough.”
Check price on Amazon
Diameter
28 cm
Material
High-quality aluminium made by a patented process
Coating
German non-stick, locked into a hard-anodised surface underneath
Durability Claim
Listing states it lasts longer than ordinary non-stick
Lid
Not included
Colour
Black
Warranty
2 years
Pros
- ✓Hard-anodised layer under the coating — the only pick here built that way
- ✓28 cm is the size most people picture when they say 'dosa tawa'
- ✓2-year warranty stated in the listing
- ✓Listing states fast, even heat conduction, which is the point of hard-anodised aluminium
Cons
- ✗Base thickness is not stated anywhere in the listing
- ✗Induction compatibility is not stated, so assume gas only unless you confirm it
“The durability pick — a German coating bonded into a hard-anodised surface rather than sprayed onto bare aluminium, with two years behind it.”
Check price on Amazon
Diameter
25 cm (250 mm)
Material
Aluminium with granite-finish non-stick coating
Coating
5-layer non-stick, stain-free interior
Compatibility
Gas and induction
Handling
Metal spoon friendly
Cleaning
Dishwasher safe
Lid
Not included
Warranty
2 years
Pros
- ✓Same 5-layer granite coating as the 30 cm flagship in a burner-friendly size
- ✓Metal-spoon friendly and dishwasher safe
- ✓Gas and induction compatible
- ✓2-year Prestige warranty
Cons
- ✗Base thickness is not stated, unlike the 30 cm Omega
- ✗25 cm makes a family dosa rather than a large restaurant-style one
“The 30 cm Omega's coating on a tawa that actually fits a standard Indian burner — the most sensible size-to-spec trade in this guide.”
Check price on Amazon
Some of these products are discounted on Amazon right now.
See today's deals →Diameter
27.5 cm
Coating
Advanced non-stick, listed as scratch- and abrasion-resistant
Compatibility
Gas and induction
Handle
Stay-cool, ergonomic
Safety
100% PFOA-free
Handling
Metal spoon friendly
Warranty
1 year; listing states ISI certification
Pros
- ✓27.5 cm hits the standard dosa size without needing a 30 cm burner
- ✓Metal-spoon friendly with a scratch- and abrasion-resistant coating
- ✓Gas and induction compatible with a stay-cool handle
- ✓Stated ISI certification and a 1-year warranty
Cons
- ✗1-year warranty against 2 years on the Omega granite tawas
- ✗Listing states no coating layer count, unlike the 5-layer granite Omega tawas
“The mid-range Prestige: the right diameter and induction support, but you are trading coating layers and a year of warranty against the Omega line.”
Check price on Amazon
Diameter
28 cm
Material
High-quality aluminium with a heavy-duty base
Coating
PFOA-free non-stick
Handle
Detachable heat-resistant bakelite
Compatibility
Gas stove and induction
Cleaning
Dishwasher safe
Use
Dosa, roti, chilla, paratha, uttapam and naan
Pros
- ✓Detachable handle — the only pick here that stores flat in a stack
- ✓28 cm with an induction-compatible base
- ✓PFOA-free coating and dishwasher safe
- ✓Heavy-duty base is claimed for even heat, though no thickness is given
Cons
- ✗No warranty stated in the listing
- ✗Base thickness and coating layer count are both unstated
“Buy this for the detachable handle if cupboard space is the constraint — but note that Cello publishes neither a base thickness nor a warranty.”
Check price on Amazon
Diameter
27 cm (270 mm)
Base Thickness
3 mm
Base Type
Non-induction
Coating
3-layer Greblon non-stick
Base Design
Spiral bottom for even heating
Handle
Stay-cool
Cleaning
Dishwasher safe
Warranty
1 year on manufacturing defects
Pros
- ✓Base thickness is published at 3 mm — most listings in this range will not say
- ✓3-layer Greblon coating, a named coating brand rather than a generic one
- ✓Spiral-machined bottom, which the listing credits for even heating
- ✓1-year manufacturer warranty
Cons
- ✗Explicitly a non-induction base — useless if you cook on an induction cooktop
- ✗3 mm is thinner than the Prestige Omega 30 cm's 4.88 mm
“A well-specified gas-only tawa with a named coating and a published base thickness — just confirm you are not cooking on induction before you buy it.”
Check price on Amazon
Diameter
24 cm
Material
100% virgin aluminium
Coating
3-layer non-stick, PFOA and lead free
Handle
Bakelite
Cleaning
Soft sponge and mild detergent, or dishwasher
Colour
Red
Package
1 flat dosa tawa, 24 cm
Pros
- ✓3-layer coating at the budget end of the category
- ✓Stated PFOA and lead free, food-grade surface
- ✓100% virgin aluminium rather than recycled scrap
- ✓24 cm suits a single burner and a small kitchen
Cons
- ✗No warranty stated in the listing
- ✗No induction compatibility or base thickness stated
“The budget non-stick that still gives you three coating layers and a food-safety statement — accept the small diameter and the absent warranty.”
Check price on Amazon
Material
Iron, uncoated
Surface
Naturally non-stick — develops with regular use, no chemical coating
Base
Heavy base for even heat distribution
Handle
Stainless steel with a comfortable grip
Compatibility
Gas stove
Durability
Listed as scratch resistant
Pros
- ✓No coating to wear out, scratch off or need replacing in three years
- ✓Listing states iron cookware adds iron to food and is toxin free
- ✓Heavy iron body distributes heat evenly across the plate
- ✓The cheapest tawa in this guide by a clear margin
Cons
- ✗Needs seasoning, thorough drying and oiling, or it rusts
- ✗Gas only, and no diameter or weight is stated in the listing
“The no-coating alternative — nothing to fail over time, at the cost of real maintenance and a listing that leaves out the diameter entirely.”
Check price on Amazon
Prices shown are pulled live from Amazon.in and refresh through the day. Amazon prices and availability change frequently — the price on the Amazon product page at the time of purchase is the one that applies. As an Amazon Associate, PakkaPick earns from qualifying purchases; your price is unaffected.
Editor's read
Three specifications separate these eight, and only some brands publish all three. Base thickness is stated by exactly two: Prestige's 30 cm Omega at 4.88 mm and Pigeon's 27 cm at 3 mm. Everyone else says 'heavy base' and leaves it there. Coating layers are stated more often — 5 layers on the two Prestige Omega granite tawas, 3 layers on the Pigeon (Greblon) and the Nirlon, an unspecified advanced coating on the Prestige 27.5 cm, and a German coating over a hard-anodised base on the Hawkins, which is the only structurally different approach in the group. Induction compatibility is where buyers get caught: Prestige and Cello state gas and induction; Pigeon states a non-induction base outright; Hawkins, Nirlon and the Dozy iron tawa say nothing, which means treat them as gas. Warranty tracks brand exactly as you would expect — 2 years from Hawkins and the Prestige Omega pair, 1 year from the Prestige 27.5 cm and the Pigeon, nothing from Cello, Nirlon or Dozy. The iron tawa sits outside all of this: no coating means no coating lifespan, but it trades that for seasoning, drying and oiling every time you use it.
— Bikram, editor
Editor's take
Almost every tawa listing in India says 'heavy base' and almost none of them say how heavy, which is the whole problem with shopping this category. Two products break that pattern — the Prestige Omega 30 cm publishes 4.88 mm and the Pigeon publishes 3 mm — and that is why the Prestige takes the top spot: it is the only tawa here that tells you the thing that actually determines whether your dosa scorches, and it pairs that with five coating layers, induction support and two years of warranty. If your burner is standard-sized, drop down to the 25 cm Omega Deluxe for the same coating in a size that heats evenly on it; the diameter you can heat properly beats the diameter you want. Hawkins is the pick for anyone who has burned through three non-stick tawas, because the hard-anodised layer underneath the coating is a different engineering answer rather than a thicker version of the same one. And if you have simply lost patience with coatings, the iron tawa is honest about what it is: zero coating, zero warranty, and a maintenance routine you either keep up or regret.
Further reading
How we picked these dosa tawas
Every pick on this page starts from real shopper questions, not Amazon's bestseller rankings. We favour products with a deep, stable base of genuine Indian reviews over brand-new listings or ones with only a handful of ratings, and we cross-check the specs that matter for Indian conditions against manufacturer and expert sources. Our picks are researched from published specifications, expert reviews and aggregate buyer feedback — not hands-on lab testing — so we focus on telling you what to weigh for your situation rather than claiming to have bench-tested every unit.
Pricing on this page reflects realistic Amazon India retail. We ignore one-day flash deals, Prime-Day-only discounts, and stabilised retailer-only coupons that don't hold for someone shopping on a normal Tuesday. The ₹280 – ₹1,700band is what you'll actually pay if you walk into this listing today, not the cherry-picked best-discount value.
Our editorial process is one person — Bikram, based in Pune — researching kitchen appliances products against Indian use-case constraints (voltage variability, hard water in many cities, monsoon humidity, smaller flat sizes than Western default). The order of products on this page reflects our editorial ranking only. We do not accept paid placements, sponsored slots, or PR-pitched products. Our only commercial relationship is the Amazon affiliate link — clicking through earns a small commission, your price stays identical.
Buying dosa tawas in India — what to know
- Indian retail vs imported products: Most dosa tawas listed here have official Indian distributor warranty. Imported (grey market / parallel import) units are sometimes cheaper but carry no Indian service-centre warranty — for kitchen appliances, that gap is meaningful since service infrastructure varies sharply between metros and tier-2 cities.
- Voltage and electrical compatibility: Indian mains is 230V at 50Hz with notable fluctuation outside metros. Most dosa tawas in this category aren't voltage-sensitive, but verify the product page mentions Indian voltage compatibility before importing or buying grey-market units.
- Delivery realities: Amazon India Prime delivery in metros lands in 1-2 days; tier-2 cities 3-5 days; remote pincodes 5-7. For festive periods (Diwali week, Raksha Bandhan, year-end), even Prime delivery slips by 1-2 days due to demand surges. Build that buffer into your purchase timing if the dosa tawa is for a specific date.
- Return window math: Standard Amazon India return window is 7-10 days from delivery, not from purchase or unboxing. For gifts and items received before the actual occasion, the return clock starts on delivery — order closer to your need-by date so the return option remains live if the product disappoints.
- Warranty registration: Most kitchen appliancesbrands require online warranty registration within 7-15 days of delivery. Skipping this step often means the warranty period defaults to the manufacturing date (which can be months earlier) instead of your delivery date. Register on the brand's website with your invoice number — takes 2 minutes, saves a potential 1-3 month warranty gap.
- Stabiliser / surge protection: India's grid sees more voltage events than most product engineering tolerances assume. For dosa tawas with electronic components, the 14–28 additional spend on a quality stabiliser pays for itself the first time it saves you from a power-surge replacement.
What to Look For
- 1.Diameter decides dosa size: 24-25 cm makes a family-sized dosa, 27-28 cm is the standard restaurant-ish size most people want, and 30 cm needs a big burner to heat evenly.
- 2.Base thickness is the anti-scorch spec: the Prestige Omega 30 cm states 4.88 mm and the Pigeon states 3 mm. Thicker bases hold temperature through a ladle of cold batter instead of dipping.
- 3.Count the coating layers: 5-layer (Prestige Omega granite), 3-layer (Pigeon's Greblon, Nirlon) and coatings with no stated layer count all exist at this price, and more layers generally means longer before the surface gives up.
- 4.Check induction compatibility explicitly — it is not a given. The Prestige and Cello picks state gas and induction; the Pigeon Special is explicitly a non-induction base.
- 5.Metal-spoon friendly is a real differentiator: Prestige states it on the Omega granite tawas and the 27.5 cm OSP, which matters because dosa flipping with a steel turner is what kills most coatings.
- 6.Warranty separates this category properly: Hawkins and the Prestige Omega granite pair state 2 years, the Prestige 27.5 cm and the Pigeon state 1 year, and Cello, Nirlon and the iron tawa state none.
- 7.Consider going uncoated: a plain iron tawa has no coating to fail, seasons into a natural non-stick surface and costs the least — but it needs seasoning, drying and oiling, and will not work on induction unless the listing says so.
Frequently Asked Questions
What size dosa tawa should I buy?
For a standard restaurant-style dosa, 27-28 cm — that covers the Prestige 27.5 cm, the Hawkins Futura 28 cm and the Cello 28 cm. The 30 cm Prestige Omega makes a bigger dosa but needs a large burner or the rim will stay cool. A 24-25 cm tawa like the Nirlon or the Prestige Omega Deluxe makes a family-sized dosa and fits a small kitchen better.
Which dosa tawa works on an induction cooktop?
The three Prestige picks (30 cm Omega, 25 cm Omega Deluxe and 27.5 cm OSP) and the Cello 28 cm all state gas and induction compatibility. The Pigeon Special is explicitly a non-induction base. The Hawkins Futura, the Nirlon and the Dozy iron tawa do not state induction compatibility, so treat them as gas-only unless you confirm otherwise.
Is a thicker tawa base actually better?
For dosa, yes. A thicker base holds its temperature when a ladle of cold batter hits it, so the centre does not drop and the dosa cooks evenly instead of scorching in patches. Only two listings here publish the number: the Prestige Omega 30 cm at 4.88 mm and the Pigeon Special at 3 mm. Everything else says 'heavy base' without quantifying it.
Should I buy an iron tawa or a non-stick one?
Iron, like the Dozy tawa here, has no coating to wear out and its listing states it seasons into a naturally non-stick surface with use. The trade is maintenance: it must be dried and oiled or it rusts, and it is gas-only. A non-stick tawa works from day one with no ritual, but the coating is a consumable — which is why the metal-spoon-friendly claim on the Prestige Omega tawas matters if you flip dosas with a steel turner.
Which dosa tawa has the longest warranty?
Two years, from three products: the Hawkins Futura 28 cm, the Prestige Omega Granite 30 cm and the Prestige Omega Deluxe 25 cm. The Prestige 27.5 cm OSP and the Pigeon Special state 1 year. Cello, Nirlon and Dozy state no warranty at all on these listings.
What is the best dosa tawa in India?
The best dosa tawa in India is the Prestige Omega Granite Non-Stick Dosa Tawa, 30 cm. The specification leader: the thickest stated base, the most coating layers, induction support and a 2-year warranty in one tawa — buy it if your burner is big enough.
How much does a dosa tawa cost in India?
Dosa tawa prices in India typically range from ₹280 – ₹1,700. Check current prices on Amazon for each pick listed above.
What should I look for when buying a dosa tawa?
- Key factors: Diameter decides dosa size: 24-25 cm makes a family-sized dosa, 27-28 cm is the standard restaurant-ish size most people want, and 30 cm needs a big burner to heat evenly.
- Base thickness is the anti-scorch spec: the Prestige Omega 30 cm states 4.88 mm and the Pigeon states 3 mm. Thicker bases hold temperature through a ladle of cold batter instead of dipping.
- Count the coating layers: 5-layer (Prestige Omega granite), 3-layer (Pigeon's Greblon, Nirlon) and coatings with no stated layer count all exist at this price, and more layers generally means longer before the surface gives up.
How long does Amazon India take to deliver dosa tawas?
Amazon Prime members in metros (Mumbai, Delhi, Bangalore, Pune, Chennai, Hyderabad, Kolkata, Ahmedabad) typically get 1-2 day delivery. Tier-2 cities take 3-5 days. Remote pincodes (parts of North-East, interior Himachal, smaller towns in MP and Odisha) take 5-7 days. For dosa tawas, we recommend verifying delivery date on the Amazon listing before checkout — bulkier kitchen appliances items occasionally take longer than the displayed Prime estimate.
Are these dosa tawas available with No-Cost EMI on Amazon India?
Most products in the ₹280 – ₹1,700 range qualify for No-Cost EMI on Amazon India when you check out with a credit card from HDFC, ICICI, Axis, SBI, or Kotak Mahindra. Some debit cards from these banks also work. The exact EMI options appear on the product page after you select a payment method — typically 3, 6, 9 month no-cost terms for ₹280 – ₹1,700, with longer 12-24 month terms available at small interest. Amazon Pay Later is also an option for orders under ₹60,000.
Can I return dosa tawas on Amazon if they don't work as expected?
Most dosa tawas on Amazon.in have a 7-10 day return window from delivery date for replacement or refund, provided the item is unused and in original packaging with all accessories. Personal-care and consumable items are typically non-returnable once the seal is broken. For appliances and electronics, the manufacturer warranty (usually 1-2 years) covers defects beyond Amazon's return window — register the product with the brand within 7 days of delivery to lock in the warranty start date.
Related Kitchen Appliances Guides
Kitchen Chimneys
Best Kitchen Chimney Under ₹5,000 in India (2026)
under ₹5,000
Induction Cooktops
Best Induction Cooktops Under ₹2,500 in India (2026)
under ₹2,500
OTG Ovens
Best OTG Oven Under ₹5,000 in India 2026: 5 Honest Picks
₹3,499–₹4,760
Pressure Cookers
Best Electric Pressure Cooker in India 2026: 8 Honest Picks
₹3,499 - ₹10,499
Air Fryers
Best Air Fryer Under ₹3,000 in India (2026): 6 Honest Picks
₹2,615 – ₹3,990
Top Pick
Prestige Omega Granite Non-Stick Dosa Tawa, 30 cm